Northern Samar has 11 new mayors



The Manila Times


ALLEN, Northern Samar: The National Unity Party (NUP) of Gov. Edwin C. Ongchuan again scored a landslide victory in the 23 municipalities of Northern Samar in the May 9 local and national elections. Ongchuan, who was unanimously reelected, said their province has 11 new municipal mayors and a majority of them belong to his political party. He identified the new mayors as Amy De los Reyes of Biri, Bobby Saludario of Lope de Vega, Ron Tejano of Mapanas, Raquel Capoquian of Gamay, Bor-ok Luzon of San Jose, Gary Lavin of San Antonio, Lerma Madera of Mondragon, Antet Rosales of Catarman, Dr. Mary Ann Avalon of San Roque, Edgar Catarongan Jr. of San Vicente and David Bido of Rosario. The town of Allen has also a new vice mayor in the person of First Councilor Christian Lao of Aksyon Demokratiko who trounced incumbent Vice Mayor On-on Dubongco of NUP. Ongchuan said the comebacking municipal mayors are Bano Bandal of Capul, Fawa Batula of Palapag, Rabit Ardales of Victoria and Hector Ong of Laoang. Ong ran unopposed with Vice Mayor Mike Sarmiento, while Mayor Ma. Luisa Menzon of Lapinig and Mayor Arlet Tan of Las Navas also ran unopposed with Vice Mayor Minda Mercader Tan. Ongchuan expressed his thanks to the people of Northern Samar for his new mandate with the new vice governor, lawyer Clarence Dato, outgoing municipal mayor of San Jose town. He said his reforms and development programs for the province will continue for the good and benefit of his constituents. Meanwhile, Rep. Paul Daza of the first district of Northern Samar won his reelection bid while outgoing Laoang Mayor Harris Christopher Ongchuan was elected as congressman of the second district to replace his uncle, outgoing Rep. Jose Ong Jr. They were proclaimed by the Provincial Board of Canvassers led by Northern Samar Comelec Provincial Officer lawyer Juan Bautista Beato Jr. held at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Hall, Capitol Building, Barangay Dalakit, Catarman, Northern Samar on May 11.