Manila enforces ‘no parking, no vending’




The Manila Times


THE Manila local government has started the strict implementation of the “no-parking no-vending policy” issued by Mayor Maria Sheila “Honey” Lacuna-Pangan. The Manila Traffic and Parking Bureau (MTPB) is conducting continuous clearing operations on several major roads throughout the city. Lacuna-Pangan has created the Task Force Against Road Obstructions (TFARO) and directed it to carefully study and identify city roads where the no-parking no-vending policy will be strictly implemented to ease foot and vehicle traffic. The TFARO has submitted to the Office of the Mayor a list of priority roads for clearing with supporting displacement strategies for vendors. Lacuna-Pangan issued an executive order declaring the following roads as no vendors and no parking zones: Juan Luna (from Recto Avenue to Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz), Soler (from Recto to Reina Regente), Blumentritt (from Rizal Avenue to A. Bonifacio), the vicinity of Plaza Miranda, Raon (from Quezon Boulevard to Rizal Avenue), Carlos Palanca (from Ayala to Plaza Lacson), Carriedo (from Rizal Avenue to Quiapo Church), UN Avenue (from Roxas Boulevard to Taft Avenue), Padre Faura (from Roxas Boulevard to Taft Avenue), Pedro Gil (from Roxas Boulevard to Quirino Avenue), Paz (from Apacible to Pedro Gil), A. Linao (from Quirino to Apacible), Taft Avenue (from Vito Cruz to Lawton), T. Alonzo (from Recto to Ongpin), Zobel Roxas (from Osmeña Highway to Pasig Line) and Onyx (A. Francisco to Zobel). She also declared certain roads as novendor zones but where one-lane parking is allowed: Recto (from Asuncion to Juna Luna) and Kalaw (from Roxas Boulevard to Taft Avenue). All Mabuhay Lanes declared as such by the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority shall maintain their status. The TFARO has been mandated to ensure that the policy laid down in the executive order is carried out strictly at all times. It will also file charges against any person or group that deliberately obstructs roads. The TFARO is composed of the city engineer, department of public services, the city legal office, MTPB, Manila Barangay Bureau and the special mayor’s reaction team.