New Bangsamoro Authority members appointed




The Manila Times


PRESIDENT Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. has named the new 80 members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), the interim government of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM). The President administered the oath of BTA Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim and other interim members of the Bangsamoro government in a ceremony in Malacañang on Friday. Ebrahim, who chairs the central committee of the erstwhile revolutionary group Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), held the post since former president Rodrigo Duterte first organized the BTA in 2019. The President’s son, Ilocos Norte Rep. Ferdinand Alexander “Sandro” Marcos, who is also senior deputy majority leader, was present and posted photos of the oath-taking on his official Facebook page. Also in attendance were top Palace officials — Executive Secretary Victor Rodriguez, Special Assistant to the President Anton Lagdameo and the two heads of Congress, Senate President Juan Miguel Zubiri and House Speaker Martin Romualdez. United Nations Resident Coordinator to the Philippines Gustavo Gonzales also attended the oath-taking rites, according to Rodriguez. The list of BTA members was also uploaded on the official Facebook page of the Bangsamoro government. The majority of their workforce are lawyers, lawyer-certified public accountants, engineers, teachers, doctors, architects, media practitioners, politicians, former elected officials at the local levels, and government bureaucrats. They are the representatives from the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, Sulu, Basilan, and TawiTawi, as well as members of the Bangsamoro community in North Cotabato, indigenous peoples who are not Moro, the Kalagan or Kagan community in Davao Oriental, and Christian or settler communities in Davao City and Cotabato City. Apart from Ebrahim, the new BTA members, based on the list, are Abdullah Ebus Gayak, Abdullah Biston Hashim, Abdullah Goldiano Macapaar, Abdulraof Abdul Macacua, Abdulwahan Mohammad Pak, Aida Macalimpas Silongan, Akmad Indigay Abas, Ali Omar Salik, Ali Bangcola Solaiman, Amroussi Ampuan Macatanong, Anna Tarhata Sumande Basman, Bai Maleiha Bajunad Candao, Baileng Simpal Mantawil, Basit Sarip Abbas, Benjamin Tupay Loong, Dan Sala Asnawie, Eddie Mapag Alih, Eduard Uy Guerra, Haron Muhammad Abas, Hussein Palma Muñoz, Ibrahim Dumaraag Ali, Kadil Monera Sinolinding Jr., Lanang Tapodoc Ali Jr., Marjanie Salic Macasalong, Mary Ann Madroño Arnado, Matarul Matarul Estino, Mohagher Mohammad Iqbal and Mosber Entol Alauddin.