Times execs garner honors anew




The Manila Times


Filipino Champions

THE Manila Times President and COO Blanca Mercado was among more than 30 women executives honored by the International Council for Small Business Philippines on March 3 at the Asian Institute of Management in Makati City. Called “Celebrating Her Passion,” the awards recognize women leaders both in government and business enterprises all over the country. Besides Mercado, also honored were Merilea Primavera, president of Pak Prime Logistics; Loubelie Teodora Gardiola, president of Lourel Development Corporation, Pauline Joaquin Guanzon, chief operating officer of MMGI Group of Companies; Therine Diquit, president of Likhang Maragondon; Rebecca Bustamante, president of Asia CEO Awards; Mary Grace Dimacali, president of Mary Grace Café. Sheryl Santos, chief of Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Competitiveness Bureau; Dr. Rafaelita M. Aldaba, DTI Undersecretary for Competitiveness Bureau; Director Lilian Salonga, director of DTI Competitiveness Bureau; Alice Liu, president and COO of Golden ABC/Penshoppe; Emelda Teng, COO of Mango Tree/ Tong Luk Signatures; Rosalind Wee, vice chairperson of Group of Companies; Cathy Saldana-Siegel, president of PDP Architects; Ana Carolina Sanchez, DTI undersecretary and chief of staff; Blesila Lantayona, DTI Undersecretary for Retail Operations Group; Mary Jean Pacheco, DTI assistant secretary for E-Commerce Group. Ida Ceniza Tiongson, chairperson and independent corporate director of Pru Life of UK; Michelle Lim-Gankee, CEO of Sterling Group of Companies; Marife Zamora, board of trustees member of PLDT/Asian Institute of Management; Emma Imperial, chairperson of Imperial Homes; Martha Sazon, general manager of GCash; Katherine Mercado, senior vice president of Newport World Resorts; Diane Carmela Querrer, anchor at PTV 4; Chal Chang Lontoc-Del Rosario, president of Jeron Travel; Chique Mones Magpayo, president of 12C4 Bread Station. Karen Caballero, deputy secretary general of Philippine Olympic Committee; Anna Maria Tanchanco, president of Taters Entertainment, Inc.; Rosalyn Mesina, country representative of UN Women Empowerment Principles; Chiqui Escareal Go, CEO of Mansmith & Fielders; Zarah Juan, president of Zarah Juan Brand; Olivia Limpe Aw, president of Destileria Limtuaco; Cherrie Atilano, president and CEO of Agrea Agricultural Systems; Merly Cruz, senior adviser at Philippine Center for Entrepreneurship/ Go Negosyo; and Josephine Romero, senior adviser at Philippine Center for Entrepreneurship/Go Negosyo. Honorary members were also inducted by Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian, who himself has been accepted into the circle: Rosemarie Rafael, president of Airspeed Philippines; Antonio Del Rosario, president of Coca-Cola Philippines; Lt. Gen. Connor Anthony Canlas Sr. (ret), former Commanding General of the Philippine Air Force; Robert Galang, former president of TV 5 and Cignal TV; Enrique Soriano, managing director of WB Advisory Asia; Dr. Hisayuki Nagatome, president of Junca Holdings Inc.; Dr. Jikyeong Kang, president dean of Asian Institute of Management; and Josiah Go, chairman of Mansmith and Fielders Inc. ICSB PH officers are Eric Caeg, president and the Academic Program Director of Master in Entrepreneurship at Asian Institute of Management; Donald Patrick Lim, corporate secretary and COO of Dito Tel and chief information officer of Udenna Corp.; Marie-Joyce Co Yu, treasurer and franchisor of True Blends Tea and Coffee/Chops To Go. The Board of Trustees includes Joe Magsaysay Jr., Eric Teng, RJ Ledesma, Illac Diaz, Dr. Maya Herrera, Dr. Rose Fuentes, Dr. Apple De Luna, Lucien Dy Tioco, Yayu Javier, Benison Cu, Joselito Diga, Sandy Montano, Pierre Carlo Curay, Richie Cuna, Jerry Ilao, Jaypee Soliman and Marivic Ac-Ac. ICSB PH is administered by Atty. Augusto Bundang as legal counsel, Sy Bryan Lato as creatives director and Rose Santos Concepcion as executive officer. Meanwhile, The Manila Times Chairman Emeritus Dante Arevalo Ang Sr. was awarded Prominent and Empowered Journalist Leader of the Year at the Asia’s Modern Hero Awards (AMHA) 2023 held at Okada Manila on February 17. The Manila Times Chairman and CEO Dante Francis Ang 2nd was awarded Prominent and Iconic Chief Executive Leader of the Millennium. The Angs were nominated by Nunungan, Lanao del Norte Mayor and League of Municipalities of the Philippines National Vice President for External Affairs Marcos Mamay. Their nominations were unanimously approved by the Awards Council of Asia’s Modern Hero Awards 2023 after weighing pertinent factors. Aside from Mayor Mamay, the other members of the awards council include Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda) Deputy Director General Vidal Villanueva 3rd, Eralista Worldwide founder Erarev Bacho and National President of Ulama and Imam of the Philippines Association Dr. Alim Fatani Sultan Abdul Malik. Michael Alexander Ang accepted the awards on behalf of his father and brother. He will be awarded himself as Asia’s Renowned Leader in Diplomatic Relations at Asia’s Golden Icon Awards 2023 to be held at Waterfront Hotel in Cebu City on June 2, 2023. Other AMHA awardees included Manuel V. Pangilinan as Asia’s Modern Hero 2023, Public Attorney’s Office chief and The Manila Times columnist Atty. Persida RuedaAcosta as Iconic Public Servant and Advocate for Justice, Pastor Apollo Quiboloy as Renowned and Transformative Spiritual Leader, Maria Rosario “Charo” Santos-Concio as Influential Female Executive in Entertainment and Media Industry, Richard Gomez as Iconic Leading Actor and Exemplary Legislator Leader, lawyer and Cagayan de Oro Rep. Lordan Suan as Exemplary Leader in Public Service and Empowered Humanitarian Advocate for Peace, Karen Davila as Influential Journalist and News Media TV Personality, Alex Santos as Dedicated News Anchor with Transformative Public Influence, Coco Martin as Phenomenal and Iconic Actor in Entertainment Industry and Imelda Papin as Iconic Female OPM Singer of All Time.